Notary Learning Center

HOME  |  CART  |  CONTACT US    
NOTARY PUBLIC NOTARY SIGNING AGENT NOTARY SUPPLIES EDUCATION/TRAINING RESOURCES

1 800 909 9003

NOTARY COMMISSIONS

INFORMATION

CALIFORNIA NOTARY EXAM Link on CNE website

THE NOTARY'S STORE Link on TNS website

NOTARY-SERVICES Link on NSC website

red line

 
Tell A Friend
Tell A Friend


white spacerState of Florida PictureRenewing your Commission

red line

    State of Florida
Select Another State  
Renewing your Commission has never been easier. All of your State's Contact Information is listed for your reference and review. Scroll down and you will find your State's Qualifications and easy to follow Application Procedures.

Thanks for allowing the Notary Learning Center to help you in renewing your Notary Public commission.

Because the qualifications and requirements are different for each state, use the "Select another State" menu above for information specific to becoming a Notary Public in that State.

Contact Information:

State Contact: Department of State
Appointing Authority: Governor

Notary Public Office:
Florida Department of State - Division of Corporations
Notary Commissions
PO Box 6327
Tallahassee, FL 32314

Telephone: 850-245-6975
Fax: 850-245-6966
E-Mail: corphelp@mail.dos.state.fl.us
Website: http://notaries.dos.state.fl.us/index.html

Qualifications

Applicants for the office of notary public must meet the following criteria:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Obtain the endorsement of one character witness.
  • New applicants must take an approved notary public course.
  • Must be a resident of the state of Florida
  • Non-residents may be appointed if they maintain an office or regular place of employment in the state.

Term of Office
4 years

Appointment
Governor

Notary Education
Required by state law

Notary Exam
Not required

Study Course
"Notary Public Education Course" (this is not the state approved training course)
FREE when you purchase a Notary Supply Package at The Notary's Store

Bond
$7,500 (Ordered before filing your application)

Seal of Office
Rubber Stamp Seal with reproducible black ink required by state law. Embossing Seal is optional and can only be used in conjunction with your rubber seal stamp.

Notary Journal
Officially recommended by the state

E & O insurance
Not required - Errors and Omissions Insurance is recommended for notary protection


Application Procedures

To apply for an appointment or reappointment as a notary public, you may obtain an application and information from a bonding company approved to submit applications electronically to the Department of State, Notary Commissions and Certifications Section.

Most of these companies provide "one-stop-shopping". They furnish an application, pay the State fees, write your notary bond and supply your notary seal. You make one payment to the company. You will probably want to check with several companies to compare services and prices. The State fee of $39.00 is fixed by law, but the bond premium and the notary seal are competitively priced. Please note that the state does not give out applications or provide notary seals.

Your completed application is submitted electronically and in paper format to the Department of State, and if approved without further review by the Governor's Office, your commission should be issued within just a few days. The notary commission certificate is printed by the Department of State and mailed to your bonding agency. Typically, the company will forward it to you and your notary seal will follow within a few days. The entire process should be completed within 2-3 weeks, unless your application requires special handling.

When you submit your application for appointment as a notary public to a bonding agency, we suggest that you keep a copy of your application and the name and phone number of the bonding agency. With this information, you can easily check the status of your pending application if necessary.

Attached is a list of bonding agencies who electronically transmit notary applications to the Department of State.

Effective July 1, 2000 all first time notary applicants are required to complete a three hour notary education course by an approved provider. For a list of approved providers please go to Notary Education.


© 2004-2017 Notary Learning Center, Inc. - All Rights Reserved