Notary Learning Center

HOME  |  CART  |  CONTACT US    
NOTARY PUBLIC NOTARY SIGNING AGENT NOTARY SUPPLIES EDUCATION/TRAINING RESOURCES

1 800 909 9003

NOTARY COMMISSIONS

INFORMATION

CALIFORNIA NOTARY EXAM Link on CNE website

THE NOTARY'S STORE Link on TNS website

NOTARY-SERVICES Link on NSC website

red line

 
Tell A Friend
Tell A Friend


white spacerState of Wyoming PictureRenewing your Commission

red line

    State of Wyoming
Select Another State  
Renewing your Commission has never been easier. All of your State's Contact Information is listed for your reference and review. Scroll down and you will find your State's Qualifications and easy to follow Application Procedures.

Thanks for allowing the Notary Learning Center to help you in renewing your Notary Public commission.

Because the qualifications and requirements are different for each state, use the "Select another State" menu above for information specific to becoming a Notary Public in that State.

Contact Information:

State Contact: Office of the Secretary of State
Appointing Authority: Secretary of State

Contact:
Wyoming Secretary of State
Notary Division
State Capitol Building
200 West 24th Street
Cheyenne, WY 82002-0020

Telephone: 307-777-5335
Fax: 307-777-5339
E-Mail: secofstate@state.wy.us
Website: http://soswy.state.wy.us/Services/Notaries.aspx

Qualifications

Applicants for the office of notary public must meet the following criteria:

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Be a resident of the State of Wyoming and the county from which you are making the application
  • Be able to read and write the English language
  • A convicted felon is not eligible to be a notary unless the felony conviction has been reversed or annulled, pardoned, or all rights have been restored pursuant to W.S. 7-13-105(a).

Term of Office
4 years

Appointment
Secretary of State

Notary Education
Recommended - not required

Notary Exam
Not required

Study Course
"Notary Public Education Course"
FREE when you purchase a Notary Supply Package at The Notary's Store

Bond
$500 (Obtained after receiving your commission)

Seal of Office
Rubber Stamp Seal with reproducible ink required by state law, or Embossing Seal

Notary Journal
Officially recommended by the state

E & O insurance
Not required - Errors and Omissions Insurance is recommended for notary protection


Application Procedures

Step 1: Obtain the Notary Public Handbook and the Wyoming Notary Public Commission Application

Wyoming Notary Public Application

Wyoming Uniform Notarial Act

Notary Public Self-Help Test

Thoroughly read the Notary Public Uniform Notarial Act. Completion of the test is encouraged but not mandatory. When you are comfortable with your understanding of the rules, regulations and procedures associated with being a Wyoming Notary Public, download and complete the application, leaving no blank spaces. Send the completed application and test form along with a $30.00 filing fee (make checks payable to "Secretary of State") to the Secretary of State at the following address:

Notary Division
Secretary of State's Office
State Capitol Building
200 West 24th Street
Cheyenne, WY 82002-0020

For questions regarding the application, call (307) 777-7311. You should receive notification from the Secretary of State within several days of mailing.

New and Renewing Notary Packages
New and Renewing Notary Packages
Renewing Notary Packages do not come with a notary journal

Our New and Renewal Notary Packages DO NOT include your required $500 Pennsylvania Notary Bond.

Step 2: Order your Wyoming Notary Supplies from The Notary's Store but you will need to order your notary bond separately.

All notaries public for the State of Wyoming are required to file a $500 surety bond with the County Clerk in your county, or obtain a property bond form from the Secretary of State. Wyoming law states that a notary must own and use a notarial seal to authenticate all acts performed as a notary public. A notary journal is a permanent detailed written record of all notarizations performed by the notary. The notary journal protects the notary from accusations of wrong doing and it helps prevent the notary from engaging in wrong doing. Every journal entry is legally presumed to be truthful. Wyoming statutes do not require keeping a journal but it is wise and highly recommended by the Secretary of State.

Please visit The Notary's Store you will be entering the Wyoming section for your official notary supplies. We offer both a New Notary Supply Package and a Renewing Notary Supply Package which include your required Wyoming Notary Seal/Stamp, Wyoming Notary Journal and other needed notary supplies at a special reduced price, but you will need to order your required $500 Wyoming Notary Bond separately.Wyoming law does not require a notary to keep a record of his/her official acts, but it is officially recommended to do so. A record book will offer an excellent way of recalling past notarial acts. If a notary is called upon to testify in court, a record book may help establish what actually took place. The Wyoming Notary Journal, also available in the online store, was specifically designed for this purpose and contains many elements not available in other registers. To order, enter the required information and scroll down through the page to locate the notary packages, or you can purchase your notary supplies separately. Follow the instructions through checkout. Once you have your official bond you may proceed with step 3.

Note: An Errors and Omissions Insurance Policy does not replace a bond, but will help to repay the bonding company if a claim is ever made. Errors and Omissions is not required by law, but may be purchased as it protects the notary public and pays for any charges the notary might owe for legal fees and costs should the notary be sued.

Step 3: File your Bond with the County Clerk

Once you have received your surety bond. Seal/Stamp and other supplies from The Notary's Store, you will need to go to your county clerk of court and file the bond. You must do this within 60 days of the beginning date of your commission. Failure to do so will disqualify you and you will forfeit your filing fee. Once you have filed your bond and received your Certificate of Commission from the County Clerk, you can then begin performing the duties of a notary public. A recording fee is payable to the "County Clerk's Office" at the time of filing the bond. This fee varies from county to county. For specific fees contact your County Clerk.


© 2004-2017 Notary Learning Center, Inc. - All Rights Reserved